top of page

Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys

Rating: ★★

Generally, I think this book had a lot of potential, and it failed to deliver. I had really high hopes for this story. The idea is brilliant: A book about Rochester's mad wife! Yes! The problem is, I expected it to be entirely (or at least mostly) from her perspective. Unfortunately large chunks of the book were from Rochester's perspective. I didn't want to hear from Rochester. He already had a chance to explain himself. He didn't need another one.

I loved that Rhys told the story of how the cruelty of the world can drive someone to madness. I think that aspect was handled well, and, in that sense, I think this is an important book. I loved the setting in Martinique. The colorful description was beautiful and totally enthralling. I understood Antionette's love for her homeland, and it made the culture shock of the dullness of England heartbreaking.

My main qualm with this book is that we didn't really connect up with the story we know and love in Jane Eyre until the last ten pages of the book. I wanted to see more of Antionette's perspective once she had gone mad. I think Rhys did an excellent job showing that fire reminded Antionette of her homeland. That makes her fascination with fire beautiful and sad, rather than just crazy. I LOVED the explanation of why she lit the place on fire at the end and then jumped off the roof. It was beautiful, and I completely understood her in that moment. It made my heart break.

I would give the last ten pages five stars, but, unfortunately, the 173 that come before that are subpar.

Favorite Quotes:

"They say when trouble comes close ranks, and so the white people did" (17) - KILLER first sentence

"And if the razor grass cut my legs and arms I would think 'It's better than people.' Black ants or red ones, tall nests swarming with white ants, rain that soaked me to the skin - once I saw a snake. All better than people. Better. Better, better than people" (28).

"I clung to Aunt Cora as you would cling to life if you love it" (48).

"They are forgotten, except the lies. Lies are never forgotten, they go on and they grow" (131).

"I would give my eyes never to have seen this abominable place" (161) - Rochester. MAJOR foreshadowing to the end of Jane Eyre

"This cardboard house where I walk at night is not England" (181).

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page