top of page

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

Rating: ★★★★★

Stop everything, EVERYTHING you are doing right now and start reading this book! Everything Everything has been on my TBR for far too long. I had heard great things about it, I loved the cover, but I had no idea how mind blowing this book was going to be, and now that I've read it I cannot believe it put it off this long. I do not want the same thing to happen to you, so GO GET THIS BOOK! NOW!

Do you have it? Awesome, now let me tell you a little story. I went to the library to pick up Anna Karenina, and I searched Everything Everything on the library database just to see if they finally had it in, and low and behold they did! I did not hesitate to snatch this beauty up before some other hungry literary soul discovered its whereabouts. I brought it home to my cozy dorm room and sat down to read "just the first few chapters". Three hours later I threw my pillows off my bed, and buried myself under my throw blanket until I reestablished normal breathing patterns. I then made my roommate start reading, and three hours later she collapsed in a puddle of tears. This is true.

I am determined not to give anything away, because this book is so much better when you go in blind. I will say that I hate Nurse Janet almost as much as Professor Umbridge. Besides that, just know this is not your typical YA Romance (in my opinion that is a very good thing).

That is all. Now go read the copy of this book you just went out to get! You're welcome!

Favorite Quotes:

"If I were going to be something when I grew up, an architect is what I would be" (58).

"Everything's a risk. Not doing anything is a risk. It's up to you" (68).

"Wanting just leads to more wanting. There's no end to desire" (83).

"Madeline: You can find the meaning of life in a book.

Olly: life has meaning?

Madeline: You're not serious.

Olly: it's possible

Olly: what book can you find the meaning of life in?

Madeline: Ok, maybe not just a single book, but if you read enough you'll get there" (89).

"He remembered sitting at the breakfast bar and stirring the milk and chocolate together. How the chocolate turned white, and the milk turned brown, and how sometimes you can't unmix things no matter how much you might want to" (110).

"Boys come and go, but mothers are forever" (113).

"I tell her that he thinks I'm funny and smart and beautiful in that order, and that the order matters" (148).

"But a description of a tree is not a tree, and a thousand paper kisses will never equal the feel of Olly's lips against mine" (163).

"I was happy before I met him. But I'm alive now, and those are not the same thing" (181).

"In the beginning there was nothing. And then there was everything" (227).

"I decide then that love is a terrible, terrible thing. Loving someone fiercely as my mom loves me must be like wearing your heart outside of your body with no skin, no bones, no nothing to protect it. Love is a terrible thing and its loss is even worse. Love is a terrible thing and I want nothing to do with it" (242).

"Love. Love makes people crazy. Loss of love makes people crazy" (300).

"Love is worth everything. Everything" (302).

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page