top of page

Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira

Rating: ★★★★

Ava Dellaira's writing had me concerned that I was in for another typical young adult novel about a girl finding herself in high school. Thankfully, I pushed passed the first few chapters and found a powerful story. Love Letters to the Dead not only explores grief, guilt, and relationships, but it also explores the prejudice gay people face in high school. Laurel's friends Hannah and Natalie are in love, and they refuse to admit it, or at least show their relationship to anyone else. In my opinion this was the most powerful part of the book. I loved the way their lesbian relationship was handled. It was very real and very natural.

I would recommend this to high schoolers more than to someone my own age. Although it was a powerful story it was definitely written for the 15-18 age range. I felt a little bit old for this writing style.

There were no quotes that stuck out to me outside the context of the story.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page