top of page

More Than This by Patrick Ness

Rating: ★★★★

More Than This was quite an adventure. I'm not entirely sure how to explain what it's about, because I quite frankly have no idea. A boy drowns and wake up in the afterlife, unless it's not the afterlife, but it is instead his real life, or maybe it's a story is mind is making up to allow him to come to terms with death. Who knows. Not me. BUT that's not really the point of this book. The book is more about the idea that there is always more than "this", whatever "this" may be.

I loved the three main characters in this book. They each had such a unique way of speaking, and such a unique back story. Tomasz is quite possibly one of my favorite fictional characters ever. He's really that hilarious, and sweet, and wonderful. You'll fall in love with him. I also love that the main character, Seth, is gay. I love that his relationship with his boyfriend is very clearly not about sex. It's about love. I love the two very different reactions from his parents when they find out. I love the way Patrick Ness handles diversity. He treats it as it should be: normal. If you haven't read one of Patrick Ness's novels yet, do it! Immediately! Go!

Favorite Quotes:

"Honestly, a whole population who refuses to call themselves after their own nation unless they're feeling threatened" (47).

There were more but my blog crashed and deleted all of my hard work... sorry.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page