top of page

We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Rating: ★★★★★

I am on a roll with good books. YAY! I love when this happens. This book has been on my TBR list for a very long time, and I finally saw it at the library and grabbed it. Even with my busy schedule I devoured this in a single day. This story is witty, intelligent, fun, angsty, and absolutely thrilling. I couldn't wait to find out what happened, and I have to say, I didn't see it coming.

I firmly believe it is best to go into this book blind, so I will refrain from telling you any more. That being said, I HIGHLY recommend you pick this up, and pick it up immediately. Your library probably has it, because I am not the only person who loves this book.

Favorite Quotes:

"My story starts before the accident. June of the summer I was fifteen, my father ran off with some woman he loved more than us" (4).

"Someone once wrote that a novel should deliver a series of small astonishments. I get the same thing spending an hour with you. Also, here is a green toothbrush tied in a ribbon. It expresses my feelings inadequately" (30).

"Better than chocolate, being with you last night. Silly me, I thought that nothing was better than chocolate. In a profound, symbolic gesture, I am giving you this bar of Vosges I got when we all went to Edgartown. You can eat it, or just sit next to it and feel superior" (31).

What are you still doing here? Go get this book!

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page