top of page

It by Stephen King

Rating: FIVE STARS

I finally finished It! (see what I did there?) and I loved it. Stephen King is absolutely brilliant. He has crafted a story so terrifying that I was tempted to pull a Joey (from Friends) and put the book in the freezer. If you don't know what I'm talking about you need to go watch Friends immediately.

Stephen King has an amazing gift for creating horror stories that are more than just scary. He doesn't rely on the terror. He creates a well rounded story and characters that could stand on their own without the terrifying bits, but the terrifying bits push it all over the top into the land of OH MY GAWD THIS IS MY NEW FAVORITE BOOK.

On the note of things I love about Stephen King: King references his other works in his own books all the time and I LOVE it. "It" references Christine "a 1958 Plymouth Furry"!! I won't tell you exactly where it happens but once you've read it comment if you found it!

I feel like I can't really tell you very much about my reading experience because it's best to go into thrillers blind, but let's just say I'm incredibly excited for the new movie and I will never walk near a storm drain alone again.

My favorite quotes:

"He was suddenly uneasy -- almost terrified -- at the thought of seeing them all again, their children's faces almost worn away, almost buried under change as the old hospital had been buried. Banks erected inside their heads where once magic picture-palaces had stood" (485).

"Maybe, he thought, there aren't any such things as good friends or bad friends-- maybe there are just friends, people who stand by you when you're hurt and who help you feel not so lonely. Maybe they're always worth being scared for, and hoping for, and living for. Maybe worth dying for, too, if that's what has to be. No good friends. No bad friends. Only people you want, need to be with; people who build their houses in your heart" (806).

SPOILER

********

********

Get ready for the best death line ever

********

********

********

"Eddie closed his eyes, thinking how to finish, and while he was still thinking it over he died" (1069).

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page