top of page

American Sniper by Chris Kyle

Rating: ★★★★

I think I'm going to have a lot to say about this book so I'm starting this review while I'm still in the process of reading it. I am currently 75 pages is and I feel the need to do a brain dump before I carry on.

This book pisses me off, but, at the same time, it's interesting, and I think it's important for me to continue reading because clearly it's outside of my realm of thinking.

The infuriating part of this book is our narrator, Chris Kyle. This man's way of thinking is so removed from mine, and I'm reluctant to blame him for it, but there is something wrong with the way he talks about killing human beings, even if they are a threat to our country.

First of all, right after telling a story about shooting a woman (who was carrying a grenade) and proceeding to talk about the massive number of people he killed, Kyle states, "I loved what I did. I still do. If circumstances were different-- if my family didn't need me-- I'd be back in a heartbeat. I'm not lying or exaggerating to say it was fun. I had the time of my life being a SEAL" (6). There is something wrong with saying you had fun killing people. It doesn't matter if these people are a threat to you and your country. Think about it this way: killing a person in self defense is sometimes justified and certainly sometimes necessary, but would you find that fun? I can't believe he would put a statement like that in writing. This is something I would like to discuss. If this makes sense to you message me and we'll talk about it because it sounds homicidal to me. (After reading the rest of the book: I was hoping that Kyle would prove he was talking about war and not actually talking about killing people, but on page 77 he says, "Fuck, I thought to myself, this is great. I fucking love this. It's nerve-wracking and exciting and I fucking love it." This statement is in direct reference to killing Iraqis as they attempted to retreat from a firefight. I don't deny that killing in a battle is necessary and even noble, but to say that you "fucking love it" is unnatural.)

The way he talks about his relationship with his wife also prods a nerve with me. When writing about the first time he met her he says, "I sensed right away she was someone who could keep up with me" (40). I'm sorry, so the first thing you tell us about this woman is not, maybe, how she can help make you a better person, or how she is out of your league, instead you decide to tell us she CAN KEEP UP WITH YOU as if you are that incredible. Ladies back me.

He also LIED TO HER about his occupation when they met, and yes, I understand you probably can't just go around telling everyone you're a SEAL BUT he had all these cover stories that weren't even a little bit believable, and, honestly, just downright insulting. A few examples: "dolphin waxer: he claimed that dolphins in captivity need to be waxed so their skin didn't disintegrate" (42). "he mans an ATM machine, sitting inside and doling out money when people put their cards in" (42). I'm sorry, do you think women lack the brain capacity to see through your bullshit? Not cute. Yet, his wife finds it adorable.

Later on, on page 114, when telling the story of his sons birth he says his wife, Taya, "bitched to high heaven" which is completely understandable, but then he says, "She claims she didn't, but I know better, And who are you going to believe, a SEAL? Or a SEAL's wife?" I'm going to believe the SEAL's wife you asshole! Also, she's so much more than just a "SEAL's wife"! She raised your two kids basically by herself for something like ten years so get off your high horse and recognize Taya for the bad ass that she is!

Okay, now that I've finished I can give you complete thoughts. I still stand by my previous rantings. Chris Kyle has some issues. That being said, he is definitely a hero, and I do have respect for him, but there are so many fundamental issues with the way violence is addressed. I understand that war is violent and violence in war is necessary, BUT Kyle writes about casual unnecessary violence for "fun" before deployment, amongst his comrades, and even toward American civilians (contradiction much?)

First of all, Kyle tells numerous accounts of extreme hazing within the SEALS where newbies were chocked out multiple times and beaten to the point of unconsciousness, for absolutely no reason other than that they were the new guy and it was "fun".

Kyle also insinuates using unnecessary force to subdue an angry unarmed Iraqi. In another story he uses remote control toy vehicles to scare the shit out of friendly Iraqis working for the SEALS. In another instance Kyle tells a story about Iraqis attempting to cross a river by hanging on to beach balls. Kyle shoots the beach balls one by one, and then he pauses to watch the Iraqis fighting for the last remaining beach ball while some sink to the bottom and drown! There is no denying that's a little bit sadistic.

Now, finally, this might be the thing that really tips the scales for me. Chris Kyle is arrested several times for assault AGAINST AMERICAN CITIZENS. You're out there fighting to protect your country and it's citizens and then you come home and physically harm American citizens, not to mention break American law. When reprimanded for these offenses by his commanding officer Kyle said, "We all left, duly chastised, his words ringing in our ears for... a good five seconds or so" (313). So, essentially, you don't have respect for the citizens of your country or the laws of your country, what part of your country exactly are you fighting for? Are you defending your country or your "manhood"?

I'm sorry I've ranted on for so long, and, of course, I don't think Chris Kyle speaks for all servicemen. I have so much respect for the men and women who fight to protect our freedom, but there are some things about this particular book that I find incredibly disturbing. What are your thoughts?

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page